Role is missing under Role Membership but user is still a member in Manage Roles

When going to Edit User Profile Data and looking at the Role Membership a Role may not be listed. However, when running directories and looking in Manage Roles the user may appear to be a member of the role. This happens with Cloned Roles.

This can happen when a role is marked Inactive before a user is removed from the role. The role disappears from Role Membership but the user is not actually removed from the role. If you activate the role again under Manage Roles it should reappear on the user's profile.

To activate the Role...

1. In Core > Security > Roles
2. Locate the Role and click to open it.
3. Under Properties > Click Edit
4. Mark the Checkbox next to Active

Steps to Duplicate

1. In Core > Users > Edit User Profile Data
2. Search for the User
3. Note that Cloned Role does not appear under Other.
4. Switch to Manage Roles
5. Select Role > Members
6. Note that user is still a member

Was this article helpful?


Thanks for your feedback! Did this solve your issue?

Comments (optional):


Thanks for your feedback!
We're glad it was helpful but sorry it didn’t solve your issue. If you need assistance, click Chat with Support below.
We’re sorry to hear that. Please tell us why.

 I don't like how this works.

 The answer is confusing.

 The answer didn't match what I was searching for.

Additional Comments (optional):


Thanks for your feedback! If you need assistance, click Chat with Support below.
Thanks for your feedback. Help us make our products even better by sharing details in our Idea Banks or our online Community.
Thanks for letting us know. We'll work on clarifying the information in the article. If you need assistance, click Chat with Support below.
Thanks for letting us know. We'll work on updating the search engine to return more relevant results.